Search Trains Here :
From Station
To Station



Posts Tagged ‘Availability’

South Central Railway – South Central Railways PNR status, Availability, Ticket

July 17th, 2009 Comments off

The South Central Railway of Indian Railways is one of the 16 railway zones in India that is serving the south central region for past four decades.  Subsequently during these years South Central Railway has made a huge progress as it has grown into a advanced transportation network and its services has successfully met the aspirations of the passengers.

South Central RailwayThe South Central Railway was created on 2nd October, 1966 when it was incorporated as the ninth zone of Indian Railways. Headquarters of South Central Railway is located at Secunderabad and it is serving various Indian states including Andhra Pradesh, Madhya Pradesh, Tamil Nadu and some regions of Maharashtra.

South Central Railway has made a giant stride forward from days of steam engine and wooden seats to high-tech configuration along with Diesel and Electric engines, digital communication system and telescopic Passenger Coaches.

There are six South Central Railway Divisions including Secunderabad, Hyderabad, Guntur, Nanded,  Vijayawada and Guntakal. Some of the noteworthy and significant achievements of the South Central Railway include Computerized Passenger Reservation System facility in 85 stations, National Train Enquiry System for information on train movement, Close Circuit Television (CCTV) at important stations, Passenger Operated Enquiry Terminals and Inter-active Voice Response System for rail enquiry and Railway Reservation.

Major Milestones of South Central Railways comprises of the Electric Loco Shed at South Lallaguda having ability to uphold 100 Electric Locomotives, Andhra Pradesh Express was augmented to 24 coaches in 1995 and after that Charminar Express, Godavari Express, Pinakini Express and introduction of Mango Specials (Goods Trains with mango load) in 1996.

South Central RailwayIn 2002, the first station in South Central Railway that was commissioned with complete Light Emitting Diode (LED) lit CLS is Kovvur and Rajdhani (super fast) express between Secunderabad and New Delhi was introduced.  In November 2002, South Central Railway introduced first Diesel Engine with AC Cabin for Drivers.

There are various types of Trains operated under South Central Railway like Mail/Express Trains, Rajdhani Trains, Shatabdi Trains, etc.

North Western Railways, North Western Railway PNR status, Availability, Ticket

July 10th, 2009 Comments off

North Western RailwayNorth Western Railway is one of the recently incorporated railway zones of India Railway. It was structured from the merger of two divisions from the Northern Railways and two divisions of the Western Railways.

North Western Railway generates massive revenue for the Indian Government thus proving itself to be the vital and important railway zone of the Indian Railways.  It commences its operation from October 1, 2002 and today it has reached several high profile milestones and made immense progress since the day of its inception.

It consists of four divisions that cover the route of 5449.29 kms across the 578 stations. It comprises of 2575.03 km broad guage route and 2874.23 km metre guage route.  The headquarters of North Western Railways are based at Jaipur and it comprises of four divisional headquarters including Ajmer, Bikaner, Jaipur & Jodhpur.

Initially Jaipur & Ajmer divisions came under the Western Railway and Bikaner & Jodhpur were under the Northern Railway. North Western Railway handles 452 trains comprising of 264 Big Trains and 188 MG trains.

North Western RailwayJaipur Division is the most prominent division of the North Western Railway. It was organized after merging Jaipur State Railways, BB & CI and Rajputana Malwa Railway. It incorporates portions of Uttar Pradesh, Haryana and Rajasthan and serves numerous passengers, primarily tourists.  It is fundamentally a passenger oriented division that is focused at generating very high revenues. In addition to that numerous Freight trains are also part of the Jaipur Division.

Bikaner Division encompasses parts of Punjab, Haryana and Rajasthan. It comprises of 198 railway stations and 142 trains. Jodhpur Division covers the regions like Nagaur,Jodhpur, Barmer, Jalore  and Jaisalmer. It covers the major tourist destinations of Rajasthan and it led to the collection huge revenue from the tourists.

Ajmer Division covers the regions from Rajasthan and Gujarat.  It is widely popular for covering religious tourist places like Ajmer Sharief, Ranakpur Temple, Dilwara Jain temple.

Browse Trains By Alphabet

a |b |c |d |e |f |g |h |i |j |k |l |m |n |o |p |q |r |s |t |u |v |w |x |y |z |

Browse Stations By Alphabet

a |b |c |d |e |f |g |h |i |j |k |l |m |n |o |p |q |r |s |t |u |v |w |x |y |z |